top of page
Search
Abby Myers

SEAriously Having the Best Time Ever

LIFE AT SEA [01.10.20]



“Great things never came from comfort zones."

Sea life – it’s quite interesting let me tell you. We are just about to Hawaii and it feels like we have been sailing for months. Fun fact: we just sailed over the outside region of the Great Pacific Garbage Patch. Surprisingly enough, there is not floating garbage like I expected to see. It is all microplastics that are hard to see from our view and equals about 80,000 tons over an area expanding approximately 994,000 square miles. Unfortunately, as we learned, these small particles of plastic that mimic the size of zooplankton are often consumed by marine life. It was very sad to learn about all of this in our Global Studies class while sailing over this area, but was very interesting to be educated and aware of this issue that surrounds us.


Anyways, back to life at sea. It definitely takes a lot of adjustments. This thing they call “sea legs” is something I finally got about the third day into sailing. Up until then I honestly did not enjoy the swaying motion that everyone found so soothing. However, it gives me more comfort knowing that the waves will not always be this intense. The captain has warned us a few times of the rough seas we have been experiencing. Also, the pool had to be drained because it has been so bad the last few days. Oh well, it will get better! I can’t complain about waking up every morning and watching the beautiful ocean around me; better soak it up while I can!


There’s more adapting to this different life than just balancing while you’re walking. The classrooms, food, people, and overall environment is something that is going to take a little getting used to. I already love it though. My classes are quite different from what I am used to taking which will be a fun challenge. Physical Geography, Nutrition, International Mass Communication, Intercultural Communication, and Global Studies are the courses I am taking. They are split into A days and B days which means we sometimes have class on Saturdays! Interestingly enough, full time is only 12 credits on the ship due to the intensity of our upcoming itinerary. There are very few people who are taking 15 credits on the ship but I had to in order to keep a few scholarships. It will take some navigating and extra time but I love my classes and cannot wait to dive further into the interesting materials. The professors on board come with so much passion and enthusiasm for each of their respected subjects. They have to apply two years in advance to teach on SAS, so this is a great honor for them. My Physical Geography teacher has actually sailed many times with SAS. He started as a baby, less than six months old, sailing with his parents who taught, then again as a middle schooler, then as a college student, and now as a faculty member. How cool! He brags that he never gets sea sick…They often bring their spouses and kids too. You can eat meals with them or simply just talk to them whenever. It really brings another level of closeness to the shipboard community which is something I particularly have enjoyed and reminds me a lot of home.


The people I have met on board are absolutely fantastic. Every meal I have had the opportunity to sit down with new people and learn about where people come from. Even if they are just from another state, it has been an eye opener to hear other people’s stories and how different their lives are from mine, even if it’s simple things. For example, NOBODY knows what hotdish or bars are (like chocolate chip cookie bars). It is so hilarious trying to explain what they are and seeing people’s reactions. Also, everyone thinks it is so fascinating that I grew up on a farm, graduated with 25 people, and that my neighbors have cattle. There are a few people who share similar backgrounds with me but the majority of people cannot relate. I love to explain what my family does and how agriculture is a huge part of my background. Overall, I have met so many genuine people and cannot wait to learn even more about each of my friends.


One thing I have both appreciated and been annoyed with is the technology cleanse I have and will continue to experience throughout the voyage. We get a very limited amount of internet to use each day, which I mostly use for communication. One day I got to sacrifice a little of my communication to google one thing for class and load one feed of my Facebook. In fact, all of my posts will be one country behind and dependent on the internet I find so I apologize for the delay. I have enjoyed it for the most part but it’s such a weird feeling when you want to look something up or go on an app and cannot. Also, feeling so disconnected to what is going on has been difficult but also has helped me to be more engaged with my classes/homework, connect with other students, and enjoy living on the ocean. I am enjoying it more than I expected but have realized how much I appreciate the fast-paced and technologically advanced world we live in and rely on.


I am excited to continue to experience ship life. There is still so much to explore and experience on the ship that I have yet to find. I will be participating in intramurals and a few student organizations which will be a different experience than what I am used to at UND. I am sure playing sports on a ship will be especially challenging. I know time will start flying by once we start travelling to more countries so I am trying to make the most out of each day at sea.


I CAN’T WAIT TO SEE LAND!

147 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


myers401
Jan 12, 2020

It is so fun hearing what you are doing and how things are going. I have been thinking about you and hoped you are doing well. Love you my dear niece. Sending you a big hug.

Like
bottom of page